Laboratories and classrooms

Laboratory of heat engines

The state-of-the-art equipment, which the laboratory owned, allowed research of various engines and machines brought to the institute for testing.

Laboratory of heat engines
 

Electric power station

The power station served the role for both, the illuminating the university campus, its educational and residential buildings as well as for training purposes – the classes in Electrical Engineering and Steam Mechanics were held there.

Electric power station

Hydraulic laboratory

The laboratory was housed in a special building adjacent to the water supply tower from the south-east. It was originally given a machine-like character. Practical classes in General Hydraulics and Machine Studies were to teach the students different methods and techniques of turbine and pump testing under various conditions of pressure, speed and load.

 Hydraulic laboratory

Laboratory of electrical machines

The equipment of Grand machine hall included the samples of electrical power engineering produced in the leading plants of Russia and Europe. The main objective of students’ practical classes was not only to get familiar with the general methods of electrical machine studies but also to develop a critical approach to their design features as well as to identify the strengths and weaknesses of the equipment under study. In 1910 a new Tram Department was opened in the laboratory presenting traction engines.

Laboratory of electrical machines

Laboratory of strength of materials

Laboratory of strength of materials

Chemistry classroom

A large Chemistry classroom for 400 people was designed for the students of all departments. Excellent illumination and acoustics made it a model for all Russian institutes.

Chemistry classroom

Chemical laboratory

In total at any one time up to 1000 students were able to study in the Chemistry Building. In the laboratories of general, metallurgical and mineralogical chemistry with the room of identification test every student was supposed to have a separate table with special feed of water, gas and electric current and also with a full range of chemicals and glassware to perform practical tasks.

Chemical laboratory
Chemical laboratory

Physical laboratories

The laboratories consisted of two sections. In the first section students did the tasks on basic physical measurements and in the second one they performed the tasks on optics, magnetism and electricity.

Physical laboratories

Drawing offices

The entire third floor of the main academic building was given to the drawing offices. The most prominent among them was the drawing office of the Shipbuilding Department. The floor in this drawing office was a carefully aligned black platform, the so-called “loft”, which served for drawing life-size parts of the ship.

Drawing offices
Drawing offices

The result of hard work was the modern complex of institute buildings which, along with excellent classrooms, housed a museum of product samples with laboratories, maritime and geological museums, classes of Applied Economic Sciences, great drawing offices, a fundamental library. At present the museum of product samples could be called a laboratory of industrial products certification. It was equipped with the best showpieces of measuring instruments.

Museum of product samples

The cabinets and showcases of the museum housed various collections of industrial and agricultural product samples mainly produced in Russia. At the museum there also were mechanical, chemical and electrical laboratories that did the analysis of the goods properties as well as certified these goods

Museum of product samples

Maritime museum

Any museum could be proud of the collection of Russian ship models that the institute had.

Maritime museum
Student halls of residence. 1902 Student halls of residence. 1902
Room in student halls of residence. 1902 Room in student halls of residence. 1902
First building for professors. 1902 First building for professors. 1902

A spacious lobby, vaulted corridors with high arched windows, a wide main staircase, architecture and the interior of indoor premises gave the sanctuary of sciences a monumental character. It took a few more years to finish some rooms and buildings. For example, the hall of the Fundamental Library was opened only in 1905. The interior was also designed upon E.F. Virrikh’s project, who used reinforced concrete structures in the construction of the arch.

Corridor in the Chemistry building. 1902 Corridor in the Chemistry building. 1902
The staircase of the Main Academic Building on the opening day of the Institute. 1902 The staircase of the Main Academic Building on the opening day of the Institute. 1902

Library room. 1900-1910-s

To illuminate the room better a lantern light was set in the ceiling. The interior of the reading room has not significantly changed over the years. The furniture from the beginning of XX century is still preserved and used today. This furniture was made specially for this room: large oak tables for 8 – 12 readers, light beech chairs, glassed-in bookcases, cabinets for alphabetical and thematic catalogues, desks and writing cabinets for library employees. In 1911, the reading room was decorated with a plaster sculpture of L.N. Tolstoy commissioned by the Institute Council and made by the famous sculptor I.Y. Gintsburg. In total of up to 150 people can be accommodated in the enormous double-height library room with the area of 420 m2 and the height of 12 m with extensive lateral choir galleries.


Library room. 1900-1910-s Library room. 1900-1910-s
Library. 1900-s Library. 1900-s

Лаборатории и аудитории

Лаборатория тепловых двигателей

Современное оборудование, которым располагала лаборатория, позволяло осуществлять разнообразные исследования двигателей и машин, доставляемых на испытания в институт.

Лаборатория тепловых двигателей
 

Электростанция 

Станция служила как для освещения учебных, жилых зданий и территории института, так и для учебных целей — здесь проводились занятия по электротехнике и паровой механике.

Электростанция

 Гидравлическая лаборатория

Лаборатория разместилась в специальном здании, примыкающем с юго-восточной стороны к водонапорной башне. Ей изначально был придан преимущественно машинный характер. Практические занятия по общей гидравлике и машинные исследования призваны были научить слушателей методам и приемам испытаний турбин и насосов во всевозможных условиях напора, оборотов и нагрузки.

 Гидравлическая лаборатория

Лаборатория электрических машин

Оборудование большого машинного зала включало образцы электротехники, изготовленной на ведущих заводах России и Европы. Основной задачей практикума студентов было не только ознакомление с общими методами исследования электрических машин, но и выработка критического подхода к их конструктивным особенностям, к выявлению достоинств и недостатков изучаемой техники. В 1910 г. в лаборатории было открыто новое трамвайное отделение, представленное двигателями тягового типа.

Лаборатория электрических машин

Лаборатория сопротивления материалов

 Лаборатория сопротивления материалов

 Химическая аудитория 

Большая химическая аудитория, рассчитанная на 400 человек, предназначалась для слушателей всех отделений. Прекрасная освещенность и акустика делали ее образцовой для всех вузов России.

 Химическая аудитория

 Химическая лаборатория 

В учебных помещениях химкорпуса одновременно могли заниматься до 1000 слушателей. В лабораториях общей химии, металлургической, минералогической с кабинетом качественного анализа каждому работавшему студенту полагался отдельный особый стол с подводкой воды, газа или электрического тока, с полным набором химических реактивов и посуды для выполнения практических заданий.

 Химическая лаборатория
 
 Химическая лаборатория

Физические лаборатории

Лаборатории состояли из двух отделений. Если в первом отделении студенты выполняли задачи по основным физическим измерениям, то во втором они занимались задачами по оптике, магнетизму и электричеству.

Физические лаборатории

Чертежные 

 Весь 3-й этаж главного здания занимали чертежные залы. Среди них выделялась чертежная кораблестроительного отделения, пол которой представлял собой тщательно выровненную черную платформу — „плаз", служившую для расчерчивания в натуральную величину частей корабля.

Чертежные
Чертежные

Итогом напряженного труда стали современнейший комплекс сооружений учебного заведения, в котором наряду с прекрасными аудиториями были представлены: музей образцов товаров с лабораториями — сегодня мы сказали бы „лаборатория сертификации промышленной продукции", — оснащенный лучшими выставочными образцами измерительной аппаратуры; морской и геологический музеи; кабинеты прикладных экономических наук; великолепные чертежные; Фундаментальная библиотека. „Не было во всей России столь богато обставленного учебного заведения со столь широко оборудованными с таким богатством аудиториями, библиотеками, с такими совершенными чертежными. Уже одна внешняя обстановка вызывала в нас твердое желание использовать все это для интенсивных занятий".

Музей образцов товаров 

 В шкафах и витринах музея разместились коллекции образцов промышленной и сельскохозяйственной продукции преимущественно отечественного производства. При музее были также механическая, химическая и электрическая лаборатории, которые осуществляли анализ свойств и сертификацию этих товаров.

Музей образцов товаров

Морской музей 

 Предметом гордости любого музея могла бы стать коллекция моделей отечественных судов, которым обладал институт.

Морской музей
 
Студенческое общежитие.1902 Студенческое общежитие. 1902
Комната в студенческом общежитии.1902 Комната в студенческом общежитии. 1902
Первый профессорский дом.1902 Первый профессорский дом. 1902

Просторный вестибюль и сводчатые коридоры с высокими арочными окнами, широкая парадная лестница, архитектура и интерьеры внутренних помещений создавали монументальный образ храма науки. Потребовалось еще несколько лет для окончательного приведения в полную готовность ряда помещений и зданий. Например, зал Фундаментальной библиотеки был открыт только в 1905 г. Отделка его интерьеров была осуществлена также по проекту Э.Ф. Вирриха, использовавшего железобетонные конструкции в строительстве свода.

Коридор в химическом корпусе.1902 Коридор в химическом корпусе. 1902
Лестница главного зданияв день открытия института. 1902 Лестница главного здания в день открытия института. 1902

Зал библиотеки
Для лучшего освещения зала в потолочном перекрытии был устроен световой фонарь. Интерьер читального зала библиотеки за все годы не претерпел значительных изменений. Сохранилась и используется мебель начала XX в., изготовленная специально для данного помещения: большие дубовые столы для читателей на 8-12 мест, легкие буковые кресла, высокие застекленные книжные шкафы, шкафы для алфавитного и систематического каталогов; письменные столы и стол-бюро для библиотечных служащих. В 1911 г. читальный зал украсила гипсовая скульптура Л.Н. Толстого, выполненная по заказу Совета института известным скульптором И.Я. Гинцбургом. В огромном двухсветном зале библиотеки площадью 420 м2 и высотой 12 м, с обширными боковыми хорами, одновременно могли заниматься до 150 человек.

Зал библиотеки. 1900-1910-е Зал библиотеки. 1900-1910-е
Библиотека. 1900-е Библиотека. 1900-е